Churchill Academy

Latest News

Show list Show Grid
  • Tuesday 10 May 2022 Young Musician 2022 Nine young musicians performed with Churchill Music!
  • Thursday 31 March 2022 Eight Years and Eight Million Pounds Later The opening of the Humanities area this week marks the completion of over eight years of work at Churchill Academy & Sixth Form, transforming the learning environment to deliver the very best for all of its students.
  • Monday 21 March 2022 Churchill Students Shine in Maths Challenge This week, Churchill Academy & Sixth Form students were presented with bronze, silver or gold certificates for competing in the United Kingdom Mathematics Trust (UKMT) Challenge.
  • Friday 4 March 2022 Sophia Wins National Writing Competition with A Twist on a Tale This year, Churchill Academy & Sixth Form took part in Pearson’s My Twist on a Tale: Our Tomorrow writing competition. The students worked really hard on their entries and produced some fantastic stories about what they believe the future will hold.
  • Thursday 3 March 2022 Rock of Ages Show Re-live the amazing performances from our cast of talented students in these photos. A s Mr Hildrew said, "Athrilling, professional-standard performance, sizzling with energy and joy and the release of being on stage in a packed theatre again. I could not be prouder of everyone involved."
  • Friday 17 December 2021 Christmas 2021 The last day of term wouldn't be complete without the traditional Christmas fancy dress - a highlight for Sixth Form and the rest of the school. 
  • Friday 17 December 2021 Guide Dog Visit We were delighted to welcome alumnus Emily Hurst back to the Academy this week, accompanied by two special guests - Bailey and Dexter. Emily and her family have been Puppy Raisers and volunteers for Guide Dogs for many years, and she's hoping to encourage more young people to take up fundraising for this vital charity.
  • Friday 26 November 2021 Christmas Concert 2021 Christmas starts early at Churchill, as our Christmas Concert is held in late November! This year we were back at the Playhouse theatre in Weston-super-Mare, and it was fantastic to see our students back performing again! 
  • Thursday 28 October 2021 Food Works with the Princess Royal Year 13 students were invited to the official opening of Food Works with the Princess Royal
  • Friday 24 September 2021 Year 11 Ball We were delighted to welcome our past Year 11 students for their postponed ball. It was a wonderful celebration after all of the highs and lows of the previous year. 
  • Thursday 16 September 2021 Prize Winners 2021 Every year the Academy celebrates the achievements of its senior students in the annual prize giving. Prizes are awarded for success in examinations at GCSE and A-level, alongside awards for services to each House and to the Sixth Form. There is also a range of subject prizes, many of which are named in honour of former staff and students of the Academy. We are very proud of our students, especially during this last exceptionally challenging year. 
  • Wednesday 11 August 2021 GCSE Results Congratulations to the Year 11 class of 2021 on their results
  • Tuesday 10 August 2021 A-level results Congratulations to our Sixth Form students on their A-level results
  • Friday 16 July 2021 The Great Churchill Bake Off All the results and winners of the first Churchill Bake Off
  • Wednesday 14 July 2021 English Enrichment Poetry, spelling and early GCSEs in English
  • Sunday 11 July 2021 Sports Day 2021 Sports Day is back
  • Friday 9 July 2021 Activities Week We've had a fantastic Activities Week with students in Years 7 - 10
  • Friday 28 May 2021 Festival of School and College Arts Churchill's contribution to the online Festival of School and College Arts.
  • Friday 28 May 2021 Yr 13 Farewell We wish all of our Yr 13 students good luck for the future as they leave us today.
  • Friday 28 May 2021 Year 11 last day celebrations We wish all our Year 11 students well as we celebrate their last day with us
  • Friday 21 May 2021 Year 10 Food & Nutrition
  • Monday 15 March 2021 Churchill adopts the Halo Code We have adopted the Halo Code, the UK's first Black hair code, as part of our commitment to inclusion and diversity.
  • Thursday 11 March 2021 Art Gallery - Week 7
  • Thursday 11 March 2021 Food & Nutrition - Week 7
  • Friday 5 March 2021 Food and Nutrition - Week 6
  • Thursday 4 March 2021 Art Gallery - Week 6
  • Thursday 4 March 2021 World Book Day
  • Friday 26 February 2021 Food & Nutrition Gallery - Week 5
  • Friday 12 February 2021 Music Podcast Term 3
  • Thursday 11 February 2021 Food & Nutrition - Week 4
  • View archived news items

Subscribe to our news as an RSS feed