Churchill Academy

Indoor Athletics

On Tuesday, 5th December, we took 32 students from Year 7 and 8 to Priory School to compete in Round 1 of the Indoor Athletics competition. The events ranged from an obstacle race, six-lap race, shot, speed-bounce and standing long-jump. The Year 7 girls came third overall with the Year 7 and 8 Boys and Year 8 Girls all coming first.  This means that these three winning teams will be competing in Round 2 in January to try and make it through to the finals at the end of January.

Special congratulations to Caitlin Keyte who came top in all of Year 8 in the vertical jump, Mary Hemmings coming first in her three events along with Olivia Young and Poppy Clements displaying great form with her running technique to catch the eye of the organisers!

Year 7 Girls:  Abigail Briffitt, Lucy Hodgkinson, Maylie Robert, Mitu Panicucci, Maia Rooks, Verity Quinton, Esme Daniels, Grace Clark

Year 8 Girls: Mary Hemmings Olivia Young, Isabella Clark, Laila Dimmock, Erin Aggett, Bella Dorrington, Poppy Clements, Caitlin Keyte

Year 7 Boys: Jed Evans first in three events, Joachim Hullah first  in two events, William Greatorex, Dan Maspero first, Owen Griffith, Jerome Dewey first, Harry Keyte first, Tom Latham first in two events.
Year 8 Boys: Stanley Irving first in two events, Jazz Walker-Mckee first, Charlie Gould first in two events, Reuben Dean first, Leonardo Maione first, Jacob Clifton first, Daniel Winterton, Drew Gwilliam first in three events. 

Note: boys' winners were for track events.
All athletes were impeccable in application and attitude. We were streets ahead of the opposition and gracious in victory. Well done to all involved and to Year 7 and 8 in lessons that push our best to be better!

Miss Parsons & Mr Mason