Churchill Academy

Model United Nations

Our Model United Nations team journeyed to Exeter College on Saturday 24th September for what was, for most of them, their first experience of this type of conference. The team consisted of 12 students from years 10 -13: Charlie Cook, Catherine Davey, Sami Faheem, Oliver Guckian, Jenson Hathaway, Rosie Kirkpatrick, Katy Leave-Whitfield, Callum Leishman, Emma Main, Will Maitland-Round, Lucy Nolan and Hannah Shepherd. Between them they represented Germany, Turkey and Australia in the model United Nations conference.

Our MUN team (complete with balloon string!)

All contributed and a number had their resolutions debated and even on occasion passed.  Sami received a 'Special Mention', Emma was 'Commended', Oliver was 'Highly Commended' and Catherine won the 'Best Delegate Award' for her committee - all outstanding achievements.  But the most gratifying aspect was knowing that each student had researched and was willing to give up their Saturday to debate important world topics of the day, including the on-going crisis in Syria.

Our team representing Germany on the floor of the MUN Conference