Churchill Academy

Naming the new building

Students were invited in September to be take part in a competition to name the new Science and Technology building after an inspirational female scientist. Over 40 students arrived keenly to find out more and chose a scientist from a shortlist compiled by the Science department to research.

They produced presented their findings to assigned Science department mentors who were then able to whittle the groups down to just five. These final five groups then had time to develop and perfect their presentations before standing up in front of Mr Hildrew, Mrs J Chen-Taylor (parent governor), Mr Branch, Ms Chadwick, Mr McQueen, Miss Tucker and Miss Burrows. The standard of presentation was exceptional and following a heated discussion the winner was chosen - Professor Dame Athene Donald. 


Professor  Donald focuses her current research in Biological and soft systems, linking all sciences together with the aim of better understanding the processes within us. She is Master of Churchill College Cambridge and has been a champion for gender equality within the University sector. The judging panel agreed with the students and felt that her strong links with the Churchill name, her diversity of work and her approach to gender equality really upheld the Churchill values of Kindness, Curiosity and Determination.

A huge congratulations to all students that took part in the final round; Ruby Byers, Lola Woods, Mads Palfrey, Hannah Morris, Sophia Stevens, Mary Hemmings, Sirius Roszye and Will Taylor. An even bigger congratulations to Polly Jones and Freya Hatherell who were the champions behind Athene Donald. 

Read more on the Headteacher's Blog. 

Miss Burrows