Churchill Academy

Year 8 Speaking Competition

From passionate speeches about why animal cruelty must stop to an amusing plea for school to start at 10am, Year 8 students impressed parents, peers and judges at this year’s English Faculty Speaking Competition. Nine teams of Year 8 students presented their speeches, after being chosen to represent their classes by their English teachers and their fellow pupils.  

Judges Mr Hildrew, Miss Dunne and Ms Lowrie said they were hugely impressed by the high standard of performance and writing this year. They decided the overall winning team was: Maddy Sherwood-Dawson as main speaker, with an engaging and memorable speech against animal cruelty, Livy Filer as the chairperson and Beau Landen as the voter of thanks. Their able reserve was Anna Papasouliotis. 

Runners-up were: Patrick Hill speaking about the evils of smoking, with Stan Hemmings as chairperson, Adam Topham as voter of thanks and Charlotte Smith as a helpful reserve. Both these top teams have been invited to represent the school in a regional Rotary Club speaking competition called Youth Speaks. 

Outside the winning team the judges awarded best main speaker to Molly Axtell; best chairperson to Jess Luck; and best voter of thanks to Imogen Beaumont for some truly outstanding performances. 

Ms Marshall