Churchill Academy

Year 8 Speaking Competition

Monday night saw the return of the Churchill Public Speaking Competition, and what a great success it was! All Year 8 students have recently written and delivered a speech on a topic of their choice and the winning four from each class were put through to the live final on Monday. The final speeches were delivered with passion and confidence, and the audience were treated to a wide range of topics - from the importance of creativity in schools to an anti-sweatshop campaign, terrorism to the value of cats!

After a difficult deliberation the staff judges (Mr Hildrew and Ms Birkett), and the student judges (previous winners Mason Beramsingh and Bede Burston) finally came to a decision. Cerys Roberts, Zoe Hollebon and Miriam Bailey won the trophies for best overall team. Their speech about girls’ sport was impassioned, thoughtful and delivered with poise. We also awarded trophies to the best speakers outside of the winning team, and these were:  David Gumus for best Main Speaker, Brett Kelly for best Chairperson and Henry Robinson won best Voter of Thanks. A special mention goes out to Bori Gunytis who made us all want to go out and buy a cat right away! Final thanks to Ms Marshall for arranging such a fantastic event and Mr Grimmett for being compère.


Ms Birkett