Skip to content ↓
Churchill Academy & Sixth Form

Strictly Dance Fever 2024 Winners Revealed!

Thursday evening saw yet another crowd pleasing ‘Strictly Dance Fever’. The talent on show was fantastic, as every performer fought to win and demonstrate their skills to the audience.

The evening was compered by our Year 13 Performing Arts students, Mair Gibbs, Oli Harris and Erin Clark who led the show brilliantly. The very difficult task of deciding on the winners was made by the four judges; Shelley Lippe, Vicki Cook, Lindsey Murphy and the current KS4 Dance Captain Isla Hinnigan-Chambers.

Medals were presented to the winning entry in each category - the 'best solist' was presented to Sadie Turner (Year 10), Leah Gordon and Flo Hazell (both Year 7) won the duet category and Bela Bradshaw, Katelyn Troskie, Sadie Turner and Erin Morgan (all Year 10) were presented with the medal for the 'best group' entry.

Issy Iles (Year 10) gave an outstanding solo performance and was awarded the 'Best Performer Trophy' and Mati Palmer (Year 7) impressed everybody each time she performed resulting in her being awarded the 'Future Star' trophy.

The overall winning piece was a technically demanding and mature solo performed and choreographed by Sadie Turner (Year 10) and this proved to be a very popular decision as they were presented with the ‘Strictly Dance Fever’ trophy and £25 Amazon voucher.

Throughout the night the audience were also entertained with performances from Year 7 and Year 8 Dance club, along with our new Year 9 Dance Company and our fantastic Year 10 BTEC Dancers.

We also took this opportunity to present our new Dance Captains with their badges ready for September and were pleased to announce Sophia Cox (Year 8) as our new KS3 Dance Captain and Bela Bradshaw (Year 10) as our new KS4 Dance Captain. I am sure these students will do a fantastic job next year as part of our Performing Arts Leadership Team.This was a very popular and successful event and we are extremely proud of everybody who performed and contributed on the night.